selection & criteria

selection process


Furniture Leadership Awards (FLA) welcomes the participation of all great companies and individuals in the furniture and related trade and industries worldwide.

All applicants and nominees of FLA 2020 are required to complete and submit an Application/Nomination Form along with an administrative fee of US$200 payable to APS Media Group Pte Ltd.

Upon receipt of the completed Application/Nomination Form and proof of payment, the FLA organising secretariat will send a 5-parts FLA Enterprise Evaluation Form to the applicants/nominees. The forms are to be completed and returned to the secretariat within 14 days.

Judging Criteria and Process

All entries to FLA will be judged by a special independent international panel that comprises industry authorities, management strategists and renowned academics. Scored using a comprehensive and scientific evaluation system, the criteria include considerations of each nominee/company’s:

  • Leadership and strategies
  • Marketing and branding
  • Human capital and development
  • Business process and execution capabilities
  • Financial and wealth management

Shortlisted companies may be required to attend a face-to-face interview with the judging panel. The meetings will take place between November 2019 and January 2020.

Only persons/companies that meet the high standards of the program will qualify to be awarded.

Results will be announced in February 2020 with an awards presentation ceremony to be held on 19 March 2020 at the Pazhou Exhibition Complex, Guangzhou, China in conjunction with CIFF Guangzhou 2020.

judging panel

Carlos Bessa

Commercial Director, Lojista


Dipl. Eng. Bistra Shishkova

MD furniture design magazine
DMT – Design, Materials, Technology


Byun San Joon

President, Gagu Guide
President, Korean Living Furniture Association


Professor Chan Kah Chee


Tom Conley

President and CEO, High Point Market Authority


Paul Farley

Editor-in-Chief, Furniture News
Acting General Secretary, International Alliance of Furnishing Publications
Co-ordinator, The Furniture Awards


Casey Loo

Founder and Program Director, Furniture Leadership Awards (FLA)
Publisher & Editor-in-chief,
Vice Chairman, International Alliance of Furnishing Publications (IAFP)
Advisor, Council of Asia Furniture Associations (CAFA)
Advisor, World Furniture Confederation (WFC)


Roberta Mutti

Managing Partner, ICON Consulting


Arief Odon

Editor-in-chief, Woodmag


Nagashima Takayoshi

President, AIK Co


Nesip Uzun

President, Mobilya & Furniturk


Artem Vasiliev

Head of Development & Intl Relations, Mebelny Biznes
President, International Alliance of Furnishing Publications


Michael Buckley

Wood Industry Consultant